6 Years and Counting!

Since our studio opened on June 12th, 2015 we’ve been closely documenting and archiving our progress. We have had the pleasure of working with local, touring, rising, and established artists and built an ever-growing following. We really appreciate all our clients and the chance to work with them. Please take a minute to check out some of our audio, video, and gear samples below. 


Harrison Eastman

Eastman recorded and released his debut single, “Honey,” at Groove. Wonderful aspiring artist that’s leaving a huge mark on the industry. You can find Eastman on Facebook and Spotify

Recorded, Mixed, and Mastered by Shawn Hatfield at Groove
Copyright © 2020 Harrison Eastman


Nothing Defined 

Alternative rock group based in the DC area. Check out their single, “Us Again.” You can find Nothing Defined on Facebook and Spotify.

Nothing Defined is Rheese Crutcher (guitar), Jake Knight (bass), Frankie Constantino (vocals), Nick Beers (drums).
Produced, Recorded, Mixed, and Mastered by Shawn Hatfield at Groove


T.M. hanna

Hanna has been playing music in Loudoun County for several decades and released fantastic albums. We had the pleasure of mastering his upcoming third album. More details to come.


Shawn hatfield

Hatfield, the owner of our studio, has released three albums, an EP, and several singles. Each of the releases is somewhat different in style. His most recent album, Beach Nugs, features fuzzed out surf tunes. Hatfield plays guitar, bass, drums, keys/synth, and sings on each of his records. You can find him on Facebook, Instagram, YouTube, Spotify, and More. 


willy white Band

The Willy White Band recorded their debut EP, Back to You, at Groove. The record features Loudoun County local musicians including: Fast Eddy (harmonica), Wade Crounse (bass), Mark Hepler (pedal steel), and Chris Martin (drums)

Produced, Recorded, Mixed, and Mastered by Shawn Hatfield at Groove


Wade Crounse/Good Old country



King st.

Introducing the debut self-titled album by King St. You can find King St on Facebook and Spotify 

Produced, Recorded, Mixed, and Mastered by Shawn Hatfield at Groove
Assistant Engineer: Warren Hayford
King St. is: Katie Olivero (vocals), Rheese Crutcher (guitar, Jake Kight (bass), Tom Cegielski (drums)Copyright © 2018 King St.


Lettuce Prey

Introducing the debut singles “Leesburg” & “Task At Hand” by Lettuce Prey!
Lettuce Prey is a collaborative effort by Shawn Hatfield and Derek Summers.

“We worked hard on these tunes together. A lot of emotion and nostalgia involved. Lettuce Prey is a Groove: Music Lessons + Recording & Appalachian Groove Records production, but it is personally one of the best projects I have ever been a part of.

“Leesburg” has some great old school funk elements and the lyric content drops you right in the mid 1990s of our very own Leesburg, Virginia. The groove, style, and explicit use of synth of this track will keep you dancing. “Task At Hand” rocks you from beginning to end with eye opening craftsmanship on the mic. Derek has an inherent ability to carve lyrics into a beat with all the flow and attitude you’d want.

Produced, Recorded, Mixed, and Mastered by Shawn Hatfield at Groove
All Instruments performed by: Shawn Hatfield
Vocals, Cover Art, Lyrics: Derek Summers
Editing: Dagney Palmer
Copyright © 2018 Lettuce Prey


Chris cassaday

This is a really awesome addition to our ‘Live at Groove’ series. Original and authentic material brought to you by an exceptional 3 piece. You can find Cassaday on Facebook and Spotify.

The Cassaday Concoction is: Chris Cassaday (guitar, vocals), Bryan Moran (bass, vocals), Miles Lieder (drums)
Produced, Recorded, Mixed, and Mastered by Shawn Hatfield at Groove
Cover Art: Chris Cassaday
2018 Copyright © Chris Cassaday


Surprise attack

Friends since the band’s original formation in 2006, Surprise Attack reunited in 2015 to share their music and sense of community with a larger audience. Their self-described mountain funk is as much a state of mind as it is a musical style incorporating everything from roots and bluegrass to hip hop and funk. Where to find Suprise Attack: SoundcloudBandcamp

Surprise Attack are Danny Durazo (bass/vox), Ian Frye (drums/vox), Jeremy Begun (keys/vox), Tom Casey (guitar/vox), Jay Rowe (percussion)
Audio Produced, Recorded, Mixed, and Mastered by Shawn Hatfield at Groove
Film Production: Christopher Leipold
Film Studio: Anywhere Studios
2017 Copyright © Surprise Attack


DJ G-Wiz

“G-Wiz” is the wizard of turntables and definitely a rising star in the sea of DJs. More aptly known as “The Young Gunnah,” G-Wiz has been in the music business for nearly a decade and will not be stopping anytime soon. 

Recorded, Mixed, and Mastered by Shawn Hatfield at Groove
Vocals & Lyrics: DJ G-Wiz
2017 Copyright © DJ G-Wiz

Focal Point (instrumental)


Jake and the burtones

Jake and The Burtones are a real-deal country and bluegrass group. They play music all up and down the east coast but mainly stick to their roots in Virginia. For their fourth album, they introduced the “Live at Groove” series with an arrangement of four Grateful Dead and four traditional bluegrass tunes which resulted in the smashing success of Half Dead.

Where to find Jake: SoundCloud, iTunes

Jake is Josh Cava (guitar), Ian Fuze (fiddle), Chris Griffin (bass)
Produced and Engineered by: Shawn Hatfield
Recording Studio: Groove: Music Lessons + Recording
Mixed & Mastered by Shawn Hatfield & Josh Cava at Groove
2017 Copyright © Jake and the Burtones

Bunny Man Bridge

BMB rocked a 4-track live performance that we filmed for a really fun project. They whips out the funkiest beats, outstanding riffs, and soulful melodies. The audio-only version includes the bonus track, “Legos for Giants.”

BMB is Jonathan Crandall (Keyboards), Zach Liggett (Drums), Max Richard (Guitar), Ryan Vanstavern (Bass)Audio Produced, Recorded, Mixed, and mastered by: Shawn Hatfield
Video Produced by: Michael Toman
2016 Copyright © Bunny Man Bridge




Shelby is an indie singer-songwriter from Loudoun County, Virginia. She has been playing music since middle school and writes and arranges original compositions. Check out her debut single, “Follow Me.” You can find Sencindiver on FacebookTwitterInstagramSoundcloud.

Produced, Recorded, Mixed, and Mastered by Shawn Hatfield at Groove
2016 Copyright © Shelby Sencindiver



Distant Creatures

Distant Creatures is a five piece indie rock and dream pop group from Washington D.C. We worked on their single, “Escape,” together – which you can stream here or get a cassette here. You can find Distant Creatures on Facebook, and BandCamp

Distant Creatures are Dane (guitar), Chris (guitar), Mina (vocals), Mike (bass), Ben (drums).
Produced, Recorded, and Mastered by Shawn Hatfield at Groove
Mixed by: Distant Creatures
2016 Copyright © Distant Creatures



Onyx travelers

The Onyx Travelers are a Folk Fusion band out of Northern Virginia/DC. You can find The Onyx Travelers on Facebook and check out the entire 4-track EP on Spotify below.

The Onyx Travelers are Melissa Avina (vocals), Ethan Bovender (vocals,guitar), Rob Plier (bass), and Flamer Plier (percussion).
Produced, Recorded, Mixed, and Mastered by Shawn Hatfield at Groove
2016 Copyright © The Onyx Travelers



Cabin in the hood

Cabin In The Hood is a Leesburg based mountain funk group. They recorded their debut single, “Momma, I Ain’ta No Virgin,” live in our studios and independently released it. You can find CITH on Facebook and Bandcamp.

CITH are Jake Pauly (guitar), John Castilon (bass), Michael Martin (drums)
Produced, Recorded, Mixed, and Mastered by Shawn Hatfield at Groove
2016 Copyright © Cabin In The Hood



View our music videos, live performances, jams, tutorials, and more visit our YouTube channel HERE!

Book a free studio tour now!
For more information contact us at:
(703) 507-0980 or